• Five-Star Quality Rating

  • Five-Star Quality Rating

DaVita Is a Leader in Quality Dialysis Care

At DaVita, we're committed to improving kidney care. DaVita remains a clinical leader in the government's two key performance  programs, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' (CMS) Five-Star Quality Rating System and the Quality Incentive Program (QIP). Learn more about each program—and about how this  information can be helpful when choosing the dialysis care team that is right for you.

What do these ratings mean for kidney care patients?

Five-Star Quality Rating System: The Five-Star Quality Rating System is a mechanism created by CMS to give consumers access to clinical quality information and to help them make informed and educated decisions about where to receive dialysis care. For the first time, these ratings are now made up of two scores: the Quality of Patient Care Star Rating and the Patient Experience Rating.

  • Quality of Patient Care Star Rating: DaVita remains a clinical leader in quality of patient care for the seventh year in a row.* To learn more about the CMS' Five-Star Quality Rating System, check out these frequently asked questions.
  • Patient Experience Rating: The Patient Experience Rating reflects patient experience scores from the CMS In-Center Hemodialysis Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (ICH CAHPS) survey. The optional survey is given twice a year to eligible dialysis patients (patients who received in-center hemodialysis at the center for at least 3 consecutive months, are at least 18 years old, and are not living in a skilled nursing facility or other long-term facility such as a jail or prison). For a center to receive a Patient Experience Rating, at least 30 patients had to complete the survey over the course of the year. Only about half of the centers across the industry met the eligibility requirements to receive this rating. 

Quality Incentive Program (QIP): QIP is a pay-for-performance rating system also developed by CMS to encourage dialysis centers to meet or exceed certain performance standards. Centers that do not meet these standards are penalized between 0.5 percent and 2 percent on their Medicare reimbursement. DaVita centers outperform the industry in the top clinical performance tier.

Want to learn more about the ways DaVita provides quality care?

Visit DaVita Better Care today.

* According to October 2020 data (for 2019 year) from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' (CMS) Five-Star Quality Rating System.


What Is the Five-Star Quality Rating System?

Find a Dialysis Center

Call 1-800-424-6589 now to talk to one of our placement specialists or start a search.

Learn to manage your kidney health.

Get your questions answered in a no-cost Kidney Smart® class.